top of page
Search
  • createdphilter

Pick up your shoes!

Today, I'm falling into a metaphor that I can't let go of. Because the intersection of the environment, me, and God are never far from my mind, my daily situations eventually find themselves at this cross road. As a parent, it is my curse and opportunity to trip on shoes and teach my kids to pick them up. At any given moment, there will be at least sixteen shoes of various types and sizes scattered across the main doorways and corridors in my home and those of the places we visit where removing shoes is the norm. Despite my efforts to provide engineered solutions (ample spaces for shoes in appropriate places), there never ceases to be a scattered, toppled mess like so many dice rolled out in a hasty game of chance.


There is an interaction that occurs on a daily basis in my home that is a result of this phenomenon. I begin the interaction at about a 60-75% frustration level (building on days gone by) and say, "pick up your shoes." Depending on how many times I've said this in the past hour it will illicit different reactions. Here are a few of these based on multiple vocalizations of a 60-75% frustration level:

  1. That is not my mess.

  2. I did already.

  3. It's just for a second.

  4. There is no where to put it.

  5. I don't even want those.

  6. Uuuugggghhhhh. (decibel level increased and eyes are diverted upward)

  7. YUP! (sarcasm level is approximately 70-90%)

There are other variations of these responses including a mumbled, unintelligible commentary which seems to have the potential for a strong rebuttal to the request, but upon further investigation was not a fully formed concept. Occasionally there is a softly spoken "sorry."


In almost every case the result is a rapid, unique and individualized clean up of shoes such that the ideas of matching pairs, designated locations, and 100% insertion into a cubby are lost. Activity is at an accelerated pace especially upon departure from the scene of the incident.


Lets take this personal road of mine and intersect God, or my concepts of God, across this pathway. If God is love, and beautiful things like patience, kindness, gentleness, etc. are valued in this framework, we see a lack of such things here. To keep this stream of thought brief, all parties to the incident could use a bit more of God in our hearts and minds as we both enter the situation, endure it and exit. This would certainly be damaging to the pride of all of us but would be far more effective and I anticipate a much more enjoyable interaction in the end. In fact we might even be happier.


Applying the environmental pathway to this scenario, I see this play out daily as well but with less clear roles for the parties involved. I say, "clean up your pollution." Here are a few responses based on multiple vocalizations of a 60-75% frustration level:

  1. That is not my mess.

  2. I did already.

  3. It's just for a second.

  4. There is no where to put it.

  5. I don't even want those.

  6. Uuuugggghhhhh. (decibel level increased and eyes are diverted upward)

  7. YUP! (sarcasm level is approximately 70-90%)

And I might add, "who put you in charge," which is actually one of the best responses that I might get because no one has. I can't really tell who's in charge in this space so it really is a good response.


Now that we have three pathways intersecting here (me, God and the environment), if I try to minimize my own desires and appeal for a more universal good for the environment as championed by God, this conversation must also take on a posture of love. Perhaps the solutions to both of these interactions must be the same. You may have ideas that you can apply from your own personal interactions the apply to environmental issues but here are a few of my ideas.

  1. Leading by example as a start. Putting my shoes away and continuing to improve engineered, social, relational solutions (whatever you are good at) to ease clean up for myself and others.

  2. Reducing the number of shoes in the first place. It seems that there are just too many options and this luxury is harming relationships.

  3. Putting shoes away for others. This is the most damaging to my pride but stepping back for a moment, it effectively achieves the goal.

  4. Focus on the purpose of the activity. Clear hallways make for a better living space and outlook on life. They are safer and provide space for the dynamics of life as items come an go. There becomes space for temporary clutter (pollution) as it is moved in and out of the house.

That's my metaphor for today. It applies to an individual's contribution to environmental care and pollution clean up but does not contribute to collective action. It may help for us all to make an individual contribution that inspires love and collective action but I won't claim to have all the answers or a flawless metaphor for you here.


Thanks for picking up your shoes.


bottom of page